Golf Stories

Mad River team wins Pro-Pro event

Posted On: Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Bob McClure & Brian French shoot 64

Mad River team wins Pro-Pro event

Bob McClure and Brian French of The Mad River Golf Club in Creemore won the PGA of Canada's Ontario Pro/Pro Team Series event on Monday in Georgetown.

Competing against 53 other teams at the Club at North Halton, they shot 64 (-8) in the two man best ball event.

"We had no issues at all out there," Bob McClure said in a PGA of Ontario news release. "We made eight birdies with no bogeys...we made a couple key putts too."
The pair, starting the shotgun on hole 7, were 4-under after six holes but knew that wouldn't be enough for the win. "Bob made a twenty-footer on our last hole for birdie," French added. "We felt pretty good about coming into the clubhouse at 8-under."
As one of the most highly contested events on the schedule, you need to go all the way back to 2008 to find a repeat winner, and back to 2005 to find Bob McClure and Brian French's name on the trophy. They received $2,600 for the win.

McClure and French have been playing together in the Pro/Pro for more than 20 years and after multiple second and third place finishes and a few lost playoffs in that span, they managed to get their second career Pro/Pro victory.
The list of past champions reads like a who's who of Canadian Golf. Past Champions include; Moe Norman, Al Balding, George Knudson, Bob Panasik, John Irwin, Gar Hamilton, Ken Tarling and Danny King.

The results of other players from the BruceGreySimcoe region are as follows:
T- 3rd Ryan McBride of Cobble Beach & Bradlee Ryall of Bradlee Ryall Golf/Kaneff Academies (68).
T-6th Conrad Riley of OslerBrook G & CC & Mike Horsley of the Donalda Club (69)
T-6th Warren Thomas of Cobble Beach & Chester Morin of Golf Town Aurora (69)
T-10th Gary Jeffrey of Georgian Bay Club (GBC) & Keir Smith of Oak Bay G & CC (70)
T-10th Jeff Payne & Thomas Keddy of Osler Brook (70)
T-17th Greg Colekessian of GBC & Nate Clingersmith of The Golf Club at Lora Bay (71)
T-20th Adam Ferraro of GBC and Andrew Roosenboom of Victoria Park Valley GC (72)
T-44th Michael Todd of Legacy Ridge GC and Brenden Parsons of Listowel GC (75)

read all news