Golf Stories

League results from Ainsdale, BlackHorse

Posted On: Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Closing days for men and women

League results from Ainsdale, BlackHorse

Men’s League
The last steak night of the season was held Oct. 1 and the results were:

Matt Ropp cleaned up in A flight with 21 points, while Ken Quinn won B, Rod MacDonald took C flight with 25 points  and Grant Fotheringham won  D.

The 50/50 draw went to Todd Thompson.

The season overall winners were:

A Flight  - Mike Harper, Steve Jolley, and Mike Meraw tied with 234 points

David Blenkinsop won B Flight with 231 points.

Jim Wolfe won C Flight with 227 points.

Phil Thompkins won D flight with 221 points

 Season Ringer board winners were:

A Flight  Travis McLaughlin with a net 57!

B Flight  winner was Rick Kinjerski with  65

C Flight winner was Darcy Scott with a net 71

D Flight went to Phil Thompkins with  73

Ladies League
On Oct. 3 the ladies played under sunny skies with a warm breeze for their final league outing of the 2017 season.

The event began with a 4 person scramble on the front nine @ 5:00 pm,  followed by a social hour and dinner.

Closest to the Pin on #8 went to team Karen Neilipovitz, Janice Matchett, Beth Mimnagh & Shelly Pollock.

A blistering low score of 32 for the 9 hole scramble was carded by team Debby Antler,  Debbie Quinn,  Norma Jean Rhody & Dawn Cleland. Hot on their heals were 3 teams at 1 under 34,  tied for second place.

The flight winners of the Stableford competition for 2017 were:  A - Maureen Peet,  B - Cindy Schmidt,  C - Michele Lanthier,  D - Edie Fotheringham,  E - Brenda Grant
The leaders on the Ringer Board were announced as:  A - Maureen Peet,  B - Cindy Schmidt,  C - Michele Lanthier,  D - Ethel McDonald,  E - Muriel Cochrane.
The Most Improved over the season was Sandy Black, while Debbie Pegg & Edie Fotheringham were congratulated for attending 21 out the 22 weeks.

The evening continued with the draw for a turn at the prize table where every lady had her choice.

Men's Night
On Sept. 26 the final men’s night was held and it was hot and humid, but the course remains in great shape.

Tom Pegg won “A” flight with 22 points, and Bill King was second with 20. Bill King took the skins. 

Ray Day was tops in “B” with 22 points while Noel MacIntosh was second with 18. Ray split the skins with Chris Selby. 

Chuck Anderson took “C” with 24 points and Andy Sande was second with 19. Chuck and Andy shared the skins with Ron Stanley.

Closest to the pin winners were Dave Plourde, Tom Pegg, Ray Day, Dave Cooper, Nick Dirk and Chris

The men had their closing tournament on September 30th.

The format was a 4 person scramble, playing for team skins. Weather was ideal, course was great, and the format made for a very enjoyable day of golf. 

After some relaxing deck time, (including a bit of bragging), we were served up an excellent turkey dinner. Skins were looked after for the day, and awards for the year-long Men’s Night were handed out. All in all, a great finale to a super year of golf! 

While September 26th was the final Men’s Night of 2017, a skins competition will continue, weather permitting, until the end of October. 

Now we’re looking forward to some great golf with all the fall colors.

read all news