Golf Stories

Kaufman wins 3rd championship

Posted On: Sunday, September 24, 2017

Walkerton resident shoots 77-70 to take title

Kaufman wins 3rd championship

Whispering Hills champion Shawn Kaufman, left, with runner-up Devlin Schellenberger.

With all-time record hot temperatures out on the golf course this weekend, the men battled it out extremely well in the heat and turned in some excellent scores.

Shawn Kaufman, 43, of Walkerton shot a seven-over-par round of 77 on Saturday, then followed by an even par 70 on Sunday with a total tournament score of 147 to claim his back-to-back and 3rd Club Championship title at Whispering Hills Golf Club.  

Kaufman also won the club championship in 2014 and 2016.  For the win Kaufman receives his 2018 golf membership next season for just half price for his great accomplishment this weekend.

Club Champion Runner-Up is Devlin Schellenberger, 23, of Hanover with scores of 89-81.  Schellenberger wins a voucher for $150.00 off of his 2018 golf membership.

Both Kaufman and Schellenberger will have their names hand painted on the club champion wall of fame on the east wall of the club house lounge.  

Kaufman and Schellenberger will be added with 12-time winner Randy Binkley, who sadly passed away this season, 5-time winner Rob Widmeyer of Hanover, CPGA touring pro Andrew Day who has won the Whispering Hills Club Championship 4 times, and Dean Girodat of Walkerton who has won the title 3 times in a row.  

The Club Champion and Runner Up will receive custom hand engraved crystal trophies next week at the 33rd Annual Bob Crowe Memorial Fall Field Day on Saturday.

There was a 2-way tie for 3rd place with Steve Harper of Walkerton and John Hoffarth of Hanover both shooting a two round total of 171.  Harper won in the 2-hole playoff to claim 3rd place.  

Harper wins $40.00 off of his 2018 golf membership, and Hoffarth wins $30.00 off of his 2018 golf membership.

Other competitors in this year’s club championship tournament and their 2-day scores were:

Leroy Dietz        175
Don Ruhl                181
Woodrow Reid    198
Maurice Hallo        202

read all news